128.5 LBS of 2010 Honey

Finished harvesting and bottling 2010 honey.  128.5 pounds of honey this year.  Most of it from Longview Farm hive number 1, with the rest from Square Roots Farm hive number 1.  Going into winter with 5 hives, hoping that the bees will live and get going in Spring.  They all seem to have a deep or more of honey and pollen, so that should be enough to get them through…..

About David Lachman

I am an artist in the Berkshires.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 128.5 LBS of 2010 Honey

  1. Kris Cahill says:

    This is wonderful to read. I buy organic raw locally produced honey here. It’s so healing. I hope your bees do well this winter, Dave. Are you selling your honey?

  2. LaLA Honey says:

    Hi Kris,
    I hope my bees make it through our winter this isn’t LA! I have been selling some. My hives are at 2 different CSA Farms, so I’ve sold mostly to the people who go to the farms and then a little to a few people we know. I’ve given a lot away too, so am trying to figure out if I need to sell anymore after we give out christmas presents…. I packed it all in glass, which I prefer, but I should have packed a little in plastic so I could ship it more easily. I’ll try to do that next year and send you a jar! Best to Noel.
    Dave
    (I also have to work on my blog, I started mine and then volunteered to do one for the bee club I belong to.) http://nbba.wordpress.com/

  3. Jeanne Davis says:

    Hi David, How did your hives do over the winter? Did you have survivors? My 5 hives have made it though one has a low population. Hoping you’ve had successes, Jeanne

    • LaLA Honey says:

      Well, I had 5, 2 in Pownel on Carpenter Hill Rd.:one died early and one died by March; 3 in Clarksburg where 1 died, early, 1 seems strong, and 1 is weak. So I’m glad I have at least one strong one to make splits from. I had already ordered 2 nucs from Mike Palmer and 2 from Anarchy Apiaries, so I will be in better shape going into winter this year. Hopefully some of those nucs will be strong enough to split this summer. It would be great to have close to 8-10 hives with good genetics going into winter this year. Glad you had such good success with your hives! Tell us your secrets….

Leave a comment